Six people taking in the water views at a sandstone lookout. Two are standing on a low wall, one is sitting on the wall, one is standing behind the wall taking a photo.

Simon Wood

NSW Heritage Awards Shortlist Announced

24 Apr 2024

The National Trust NSW Heritage Awards are an annual celebration of outstanding practice, awarding excellence in conservation of Aboriginal, built, natural and cultural heritage. 2024 marks the 30th annual awards, and “this year we’ve seen a record number of entries,” said Debbie Mills, CEO of the National Trust (NSW).

West Head Lookout, designed by Bruce Mackenzie and OCULUS for NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service, is shortlisted in the landscape category.

The lookout was constructed in 1965 in the ‘Sydney Bush School’ style. Designed by renowned Sydney landscape architect Bruce Mackenzie in association with architect Russell Smith, the lookout holds a cherished place in Australian Landscape Architecture history.

Structural works were required to strengthen the existing retaining wall, along with the introduction of a new barrier to minimise fall risks. The refurbished design balances the heritage and landscape character of West Head Lookout with visitor safety,

Penny Sharpe, Minister for Heritage, said the incredibly diverse finalist line-up showcases the important work happening across New South Wales to conserve and enhance connection to heritage.

The winners will be announced at the National Trust Heritage Awards ceremony on Friday 17 May in Sydney.

Join our mailing list for occasional updates.